Society for Judgment and Decision Making

The Society for Judgment and Decision Making

The Society for Judgment and Decision Making is an interdisciplinary academic organization dedicated to the study of normative, descriptive, and prescriptive theories of judgments and decisions. Its members include psychologists, economists, organizational researchers, decision analysts, and other decision researchers. The Society's primary event is its Annual Meeting, at which Society members present their research. It also publishes the journal Judgment and Decision Making.

Boston skyline

The 2016 meeting will take place in Boston, MA, November 18-21. Plenary events will include a keynote talk on Sunday, November 20th delivered by Linda Babcock.

fischhoff picture
A tribute for Baruch Fischhoff will take place on Friday, November 18 from 5:30-7:30pm in the conference hotel to celebrate his achievements and contribution to the field. See the program (p. 4) for a list of speakers.

Here is the final program.

The deadline for early registration has passed. The fee is now $400 for members, $445 for non-members, and $200 for student members, to be paid on arrival at the meeting. Hotel reservations may be available at the Psychonomic Society rate described here.

If you are presenting, please consider uploading your presentation slides or poster to the SJDM meeting archive:

Guidelines for talks and posters.

Here is where you can sign up for the women's lunch.


The previous SJDM conference was held in Chicago, Illinois, in 2015.

Complete final program, including talks presented and posters.

Video of tribute to Paul Slovic

Interview of Daniel Kahneman (Leif Nelson, interviewer; audio recording).


Tentative schedule for future meetings:
2017 - Vancouver, BC, Canada, November 10-13
2018 - New Orleans, LA, November 16-19
2019 - Montreal, QC, Canada, November 15-18

SJDM meetings are in tandem with those of the Psychonomic Society, which provides assistance to us in various ways.


Mailing lists: Members of SJDM are added to the sjdm-members mailing list, which is for communications about society business such as meetings and elections. It also provides a password for the members section of this site and a monthly reminder of it. This is a very low-volumue mailing list. You cannot unsubscribe from it. It is the only way the society has to communicate with members. Please make sure your email address is the one you use to receive mail. If you are a member of this society and you are not getting mail about Society elections and other business, please write baron@upenn.edu.

The jdm-society mailing list is much higher volume and is open to all for reading and posting, but moderated.


Decision Science News always has the latest conference deadlines, jobs, and announcements.
 Subscribe by email (one email per week, easy unsubscribe) rss icon RSS


2015-2016 Executive board

Dan Goldstein (dan@dangoldstein.com), President
Rick Larrick (rick.larrick@duke.edu), President Elect
Ellen Peters (peters.498@osu.edu), Past President
Katy Milkman (kmilkman@wharton.upenn.edu), Elected Member 2015-2018
Shane Frederick (shane.frederick@yale.edu), Elected Member 2014-2017
Deborah Small (deborahs@wharton.upenn.edu), Elected Member 2015-2016
Bud Fennema (fennema@fsu.edu), Secretary-Treasurer
Jon Baron (baron@upenn.edu), Webmaster
Jon Baron (baron@upenn.edu), Journal Editor
Dan Goldstein (dan@dangoldstein.com), Newsletter Editor
Nina Mazar (nina.mazar@rotman.utoronto.ca), 2016 Program Committee Chair
Jennifer Dannals (jdannals@stanford.edu), Student Representative 2015-2016

Kate Wessels (Kate.Wessels@behavioralpolicy.org), 2016 Conference Coordinator


Web site maintained by Jon Baron, Dan Goldstein, Dave Hardisty, and Jon Westfall, with help from others. Backups are here. and here. The mailing lists don't work on these.